Sign in with
Your question

Hard drive won't boot

Last response: in Storage
January 12, 2007 3:17:14 AM

Ok, first off I need to tell everyone that I have little experience in hard drives and RAID arrays,(less than anything else) I know the basics about RAID and I assembled my first homebuilt computer some 1.5 years ago. I used a WD2500KS for the hard drive on a Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLI mobo. I recently had a fairly serious windows error, and formatted the hard drive and did a fresh install of XP. After installing all of my drivers I decided to try and hook up my old IDE hard drive from a different computer as a slave to transfer some information. I'm assuming that is where I messed up. At first I booted like normal with the SATA drive and the IDE didn't show up in my computer, but it did show in device manager. I uninstalled the drivers and then let windows re-install them, still no dice. So I then went into my raid array and without thinking it through all the way I deleted my raid array with the Delete option. It asked if I wanted to clear the disk and I said yes. I enabled the IDE raid in my CMOS and configured the new array with the IDE on slave and the SATA on master, with the SATA booting as 1 and the IDE as 2. They were set in JBOD. I then tried to boot and got nothing. It went straight through both drives, onto my floppy, and then tried booting from CD. I disconnected the IDE drive and put the SATA back in a single JBOD array. Now I can't get the drive to boot at all. I know windows is there and in perfect condition. My Bios still recognizes the drive as well as my raid utility. I put my windows install disk in and went through the driver adding with F6 (nvidia raid and storage drivers are needed for this mobo) and let it load up. After accepting the agreement it showed the drive as 238gigs (same size as before) of unpartitioned space. I am stuck. I don't know whether it is a simple fix by installing the drivers again or if I will have to format and re-instal