8800GTX SLI Error nv EventId 14 resolution

bronco

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2005
Hello, although I am a new member here, I have many years of experience on computers and I am the IT Manager for a large Stock broking firm.
My problems started 15 days ago when I decided to built a pc with the following configuration:
Asus Striker Extreme mob
2x EVGA 8800GTX SLI
2 Gigs OCZ 1066 Vida SLI Edition
2xRaptor 150 Raids 0+ 2xSeagate 350 Raid 0
Plextor 755 DVDRW + Liteon 167T Reader
Enermax Galaxy PSU 1000W
Stacker 830 Case with 5 120 fans.

The built was easy and the only problems I had to begin with were sound crackling in fps intensive games and a difference of 10 degrees C between the two 8800's which I initially attributed to slot location in the case.
After some testing one of my 2 GTX's was 10 degrees hotter than the other no matter where I placed it, top slot or bottom. I took both cards out to check if one of them had the Known faulty resistor issue but both of them had 40C resistors and in one of them, the coldest one, you could see that the resistor had been replaced.
I proceeded by applying As5 only on the core of the warmer card that made no difference in temps what so ever, so next day I went to my retailer and swapped the card for another. This is when my real problems began....
After installing the new card in my pc I flashed it to the new evga bios and it was instantly recognized in windows and all benchmarks and games saw it within specs. After a whole day on the PC, and while I was browsing some forums on IE, the pc froze without a BSOD. I hit the reset button and after loging in I found in my event viewer an eventid 14 nv error. There was no information about the error anywhere on the net.This was with 97.44 drivers.
Next day I loaded the new drivers that had just came out and again while browsing the net I was greeted with another freeze with same error in the event viewer. I was furious....
These are my findings: