Window 7 64 Won't Download Updates

cadefoster

Distinguished
Jun 14, 2010
I am currently having a probelm with my windows not downloading 2 updates. I let the auto update download and install all of the important updates but I noticed that there are 2 that are not automatacily downloading; SP 1 and Security KB2467173. The odd thing is, when I tried to download them manually through windows update, the download just hangs at 0% I have been using windows 7 for about 8 months and this is the first time an update won't download. Any idea why?. One other thing, when I stop the update that's refusing to download, my cpu goes up to
%50 usage untill i restart. Weird.
Win 7 64
Asus P7P55d Pro mobo
i7-870
4 gigs ddr 3
GTX 560 ti

John_VanKirk

Distinguished
Hi there,

Not sure if you are talking about the C++ redistributable SP-1 update. I had both of those fail initially also on Win-7 64 Ultimate. After all other updates were installed, I installed them one at a time, and they installed without a hitch.

If you are talking about Win-7 SP-1, download and save it on your computer, then run it from the saved location. If still problems, disconnect from the Inet, disable your Antivirus, and see if that works.

Ona Island Ina Sea

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2010
Hi

I'm having exactly the same problem with the same updates. Windows Update fails at about 300Mb and I have tried to download from Microsoft Download Center manually, but that has failed due to another problem with a new graphics card crashing my pc before I can complete the download. I'm trying again at this very moment and am at 500 Mb of 903 Mb. with another hour and a half to go due to the slowness of my connection which is bouncing between 30 and 90 Kb/sec. I will post again if successful. I did try all the suggestions from Microsoft about disabling anti-virus programs etc. but it did no good.

Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit OS
Gigabyte 890FX UB5 motherboard
XFX HD6950 1 Gb GPU
OCZ Vertex 2 60 Gb boot drive