Sign in with
Your question

Building my own, looking for assistance

Last response: in Systems
January 15, 2007 3:59:11 AM

This is the first time I've attempted to build my own computer, though I have some experience, I am more then happy to take some advice. I've bookmarked some hardware on www.newegg.com(which I hear is the best place to get hardware). Let me know what you think!

Case - Antec Performance Mid Tower Computer Case

Processor - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz

Hard Drive - Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10,000 RPM

Optical Drives - Sony DVD Burner

Memory- Corsair (2 x 1GB) DDR2 SDRAM

Motherboard - EVGA NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard

Power Supply Unit - OCZ GameXStream 700W

Floppy Drive - Mitsumi USB 2.0 with digital card reader

Sound Card - Creative Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum

Video Card - eVGA GeForce 8800GTX

Monitor - ViewSonic 19" LCD

All of this for about $2000 and $1800 after rebates. I'm looking for advice on my choices of hardware, and compatibility! Thanks for reading and know that I really appreciate assistance!

Edit: Forgot to mention I'm most likely going to be using Windows Vista as an Operating System, and I will probably overclock also.

More about : building assistance

January 15, 2007 4:11:15 AM

Would you recommend 2x eVGA GeForce 8800GTX, or perhaps buy one and then if I think I need another?
Related resources
January 15, 2007 4:20:18 AM

Quote:
Would you recommend 2x eVGA GeForce 8800GTX, or perhaps buy one and then if I think I need another?