Core 2 Mobo for First Time Builder

campijr

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2007
:) I have started to buy hardware parts to build a new pc myself. I have replaced RAM, video cards, sound cards before, but never built a pc. I'm a first time pc builder.
I have been researching motherboards and need some advice. I am focused on using an Intel Core 2 Duo cpu so the motherboard has to support it and a SATA hard drive that I've already purchased. In fact, I have purchased the ATX case, floppy drive, hard drive and Windows XP Home OS.
I don't think I'll have much need for overclocking, but it would be nice to have the option if I want to oc at some future time. This means an Intel mobo wouldn't be an option as I don't believe they can be overclocked.
My budget on the mobo is about $120. I like some of the Gigabyte, Biostar and MSI boards I've researched. I especially like a MSI mobo that includes preset overclock settings.
Should I forget about the overclocking all together and just go for a nice Intel mobo? I have been researching and reviewing many discussion boards on this topic and there seems to be issues with the newer Intel 965 chipsets. I'm tending to opt for a mobo with the older and more proven Intel 945 chipset. I want something that isn't going to give me a headache and will still provide good performance and support. Please provide your suggestions. Thanks much![/b]

honkytonkman

Distinguished
May 9, 2005
I can't tell you exactly which is better and why, etc. But when I did all my research a month ago the best one I found, in my opinion, is the GA-965P-DS3. It's cheap, the performance is great, and at the time of purchase, it was the best overclocker of all motherboards (including the more expensive ones).
http://www.neoseeker.com/Articles/Hardware/Reviews/ga-p965-ds3/14.html