Using a Router with Dial-up

trixst4r

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2006
Greetings to all, this is my first time posting on TG.

Anyways, let's get straight to the point. Is it possible to use a router with dial-up? My answer is no (and I hope I am right) so is the only choice of sharing an internet connection is using a star topography(I'm sure this is not the right word, I forgot what it was). But a problem I have is that I can't seem to find a ethernet hub anywhere right now. So is there another way to do it?

Also, do those USB to ethernet port thing work? Cause if i have to use a hub, i need an extra ethernet port for the one that connects to the internet and I dont feel like opening up the HP case just cuz im scared I might break the cheap mobo inside. I'll do it if I have to, but if thoes USB to ethernet works, it'll save time.

Background info following (if you are interested).
This so called "dial-up" is actually from Bell. Its something called "business high speed dial". I need to get some sort of internet sharing between 2 computers. My friend wanted me to help her wife's small home office to set it up. Well changing to DSL or cable is not an option because they are in a business tower and he says that the tower blocks accessing to internet except for using their service ($100+ a month). So he wants to keep this dial-up thing.

thx

blue68f100

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2005
You are wrong. There are router out there that support dial-up.

The usb to ethernet does work, but poorly in 1.1 . Most all pc's built in the last couple of years have ethernet. Usually located above the usb ports.

The service you refere to is ADSL. They work no different than any other dsl service. As for bussiness class router will dial up, look at Netgear FVS328. The fvs models have a serial port for dial-up. The old SMC7004ARB have serial ports and are 5 + years old. Don't recomend them they are real slow.