Bad Axe 2 and Overclocking CRAZINESS!

rgonyer

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2007
Alright, here's the situation.

I am not an expert overclocker by any means, but I have done a ton of research on this board, and I am also an electrical engineer by trade, so I have a fair understanding of what is going on. Here's what has gone down thus far:

System:
Bad Axe 2 with latest Bios - 2431 released 1/11/07
E6400 CPU
Ninja CPU cooler
(2) 250gb SATA 300 drives in Raid 0 on the Matrix controller
2GB Ballistix DDR2-1000 memory :

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820146563

The first night I started playing around, I was on the previous BIOS (2395 I believe). This was a few nights ago. I set all the voltage settings at reasonable settings and watched the CPU temp to make sure it was fine. I set the memory to 533mhz, 5-5-5-18 to start off. I started bumping up the FSB little by little, and basically made it up to 3.1ghz with not much of a problem. Every time a made a 20 mhz jump or so in FSB, I would run a couple of the CPU cooking apps for 10 or 15 mintues to at least make sure it was semi stable.

After hitting 3.1ghz, I bumped it up another 5, and of course it locked up. No problem I thought, I'll reboot it, take 10mhz off the FSB, and run an all night burn test. No go. I basically brought the FSB back down to 266 and started over. Reset all the voltages and memory to where they were for the last run (using both IDCC and the Bios to verify), and I couldn't get past 270 FSB! If I set it to 275 or 280 in either the BIOS or IDCC, it would lock, or not post.

I left it for a couple of days as I got busy with some other stuff, and went back to it last night.