PCI Express x16, PCI Express x4 (x16 connector)?

Ijiamee

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2007
Hi,

I'm looking at buying a pre-built pc (/ducks) and the MB specs listed show the following:

PCI Express x16, PCI Express x4 (x16 connector) and 3 PCI slots.

I've never built a SLI/CF box before so I'm not quite sure of all the specifics. My question is what limitations will I see running CrossFire on a PCI-e X4, with a X16 connector?

I was told that thsi board is x-fire ready, but that may not mean x-fire will work as wel as if ther were 2x16's, at least thatt is what I'm assuming.

So, is a X4 slot with a connector normal for x-fire or should I be looking at a MB with 2 X16 slots?

Thanks in advance

Ijiamee

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2007
That's better news than I'd hoped for, but seems that the x4 + x16, while running in x-fire, will only alow x4 + x8, as opposed to x8 +X8.

Or am I putting too much into it?

MadHacker

Distinguished
May 20, 2006
do you have a link to the MB spec?

nothing wrong with buying a prebuilt machine... it just depends on what is in the machine and who builds it.(I'd never buy a machine built by "Red Green")

also you can go to any computer shop and they can build you a computer to any spec you choose.

Ijiamee

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2007
Aye, the specs are here: http://gateway.com/programs/fx530/index.asp?page=techspecs

I've built my last four boxes, but the big box companies are getting pretty good at doing it reasonably priced.

I put together a box at Gateway.com, and then went to Pricewatch to piecemeal all the parts together; and Gateway's only cost $100.00 more than if I bought everything individually. It comes with a year's warranty, etc.

Pretty good deal actually, but this MB is a concern.

MadHacker

Distinguished
May 20, 2006
not to bad a system...
but it doesn't say who makes the motherboard...

as for making the system...
take the parts that you want, from your piecemeal of parts and take it to your local computer store...