• ASrock
  • PCI Express
  • Product
Last response: in Motherboards
January 17, 2007 10:52:50 PM

Hi,
I'm wanting to upgrade my pc. so this is what i wanna do. get this
mobo
and a e6300 and use my 1 gb of ddr and a 9200 agp card for a while then upgrade. does anyone have something to say about this board. or is there a board like this but better or with more features. And when i upgrade to pci express it says its pci-e x16 but x4 electrical i have no idea what this is and would this affect anything card performance wise. This is my first build with this type of mobo and i would like some advice.

Thank you in advance

More about : asrock 775dual vsta

January 17, 2007 11:23:05 PM

This is a great stable board for building a budget system. But, if you are planning to upgrade parts over time and build a "high" end system around this mainboard, I wouldn't recommend it. The bus speed is limited to 300MHz, so it will always be a poor overclocker, and I know for a fact the PCI-e x16 only runs at x8 speed.
Having said that, I did just build a system around this board for a customer with DDR1 and an AGP card, along with a P4 511, and it works excellent. Very cheap too.
January 17, 2007 11:26:12 PM

I just upgraded from an Athlon XP-M 2500+ and Abit NF7-S 2.0 to the Asrock 775dual VSTA and a E6300. It's a good board, stable, and all the features you will actually use. It's a little light on the SATA end (only 2 ports), it's doesn't have a 1Gb ethernet port, rather a 100Mb (which is more then enough for most people, 100Mb = 12.5MB/s). The PCI-E slot is only 4x, so if you get a high end card (I'm gunna say 7800, 7900, x1800, x1900, 8600, 8800, x2800?, x2600?) The PCI-E slot will slow you down, but not enough to make it a big enough deal to get a new motherboard + ram right away.

It's a great stepping stone board, and the upgrade to a E6300 was HUGE. You wont regret it.
January 28, 2007 4:16:58 PM