Problems with partitioning SEAGATE 320GB into 8 partitions

jackiewin

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2007
Hi, everybody! I am newbie here, I searched around the forum and still cannot find out my problems!

I just got a new computer with the hard disk SEAGATE 320GB, SATA 7200rpm. The existed partition is 10GB for WinXP and two others are 150GB for each. I boot the computer with Hiren Boot 8.7 and use Paragon Partition to resize those partitions. I can only resize and create 1 more partition 70GB. When I resize the other 70GB, all the button greyed out and I cannot do anything, it is marked unallocated and I cannot intervene anything into this partition ???

I log in into Windows and use Partition Magic Pro 8.0 to tamp into the disk but the result is the same, what happened ??? What can I do ???

Can I divide my single disk into 8 partitions, 40GB each. I want to install Windows VISTA and Linux on other partitions.

I really appreciate your help.

Thanks.

Jackie Win.

dokk

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2006
Hi, everybody! I am newbie here, I searched around the forum and still cannot find out my problems!

I just got a new computer with the hard disk SEAGATE 320GB, SATA 7200rpm. The existed partition is 10GB for WinXP and two others are 150GB for each. I boot the computer with Hiren Boot 8.7 and use Paragon Partition to resize those partitions. I can only resize and create 1 more partition 70GB. When I resize the other 70GB, all the button greyed out and I cannot do anything, it is marked unallocated and I cannot intervene anything into this partition ???

I log in into Windows and use Partition Magic Pro 8.0 to tamp into the disk but the result is the same, what happened ??? What can I do ???

Can I divide my single disk into 8 partitions, 40GB each. I want to install Windows VISTA and Linux on other partitions.

I really appreciate your help.

Thanks.

Jackie Win.

Jackie,, #1. Use Fdisk to get rid of everything on the hdd ..