Sign in with
Your question

Ram speed and GFX cards

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 18, 2007 4:00:20 PM

Hi,

I'm a newbie to the GFX card world and was wondering would the speed of the ram I use in my PC affect FPS in games?

Would ram at a higher mhz speed give me more frame rates?

Core 2 Duo: 6400 @2.13ghz
GFX: sapphire x1650 pro
Ram: (1gb X 2) Adata PC2-3200 DDR2 sticks

Thanks

More about : ram speed gfx cards

January 18, 2007 4:48:18 PM

Quote:
would the speed of the ram I use in my PC affect FPS in games?

Yes and No. The exact answer is "it might".

If your system RAM/CPU are fast but your video card is slow and you are playing a game that relies mostly on the video card (some games are very CPU/RAM dependent) then further increasing the speed of your RAM and/or CPU will not noticeably improve your frame rates.

If you have a slower CPU/RAM and an uber video card, upgrading to faster RAM and/or CPU will give you a big boost in frame rates, especially in games which rely heavily on CPU/RAM.

One example is World of Warcraft: It needs at least of 1 GB of RAM to work well. You can have a slower/older CPU and an older/slower video card but if you have 1 GB of decent RAM the game will give you good frame rates. But if you have a fast CPU and a fast video card but only 512 Mb of RAM (especially if it is older/slower RAM) your performance will suffer tremendously, especially in crowded areas of the major cities or during large-scale PvP battles.

Simply put, the best policy overall is to try and use good components all around because any one component can become your PCs bottleneck: If your PC is not using the fastest CPU your motherboard can support in combination with the fastest video card there is probably no good reason to use the fastest memory supported by your motherboard.