Need new system please help with choice

designer112

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2007
Hi

I am a graphic designer in desperate need for a new machine. Current machine is 5 yr. old P4 1.8 ghz / 1 gb ram / radeon 9700/ combo / cdrw / 15k scsi 36 gb boot disk / 120 gb Wd for storage / floppy / usb / firewire etc.

I am looking to buy a machine which will run very fast wih all uptodate software including Adobe creative suite, Quark & microsoft programs.
I have 5-10 programs running all the time & can have alot of photos & files open as well.

requirements...

1) processor - should i go with the E6xxx series or with dual socket system and get one dual core xeon with the option to later add an additional one when programs become optimized? also which one is faster dual core xeon or dual core E6xxx series? also will i have an advantage with going more then 2 cores for now?

2) hard drive - i need the fastest hard drive as this helps speed up the system in my work. i currently have the 15k rpm scsi, should i use that as boot disk or will the raptor which is only 10k rpm compare in speed since its a newer drive with newer technology? also if it is recommended to keep the scsi how will it interact with sata drives & could i use the same scsi card and ccables that i have in my other system? also for storage which harddrive will be the best?

3) ram - how much ram can i have maximum and it will still make a difference in performance levels? which brand and speeds?

4) video card - which video card is recommended for graphic design use & occassional video/movie watching? no gaming whatsoever.