XFX 6800XT 256MB Occasionally Hangs System - Power Supply?

jorosar

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2007
Dear all,

I'm here in need of a bit of help - I'm all right with computers as a user but I'm a little skint on the technical side, unfortunately. I am a forum newbie, so please excuse my incompetence, but I'm an ok user and will do my best to make myself look quasi-intelligent. :)

I built a system three to five years ago that consisted of the following:

- Pentium 4 2.53GHz (not overclocked, and has a huge Zalman copper butterfly fan on it)
- ASUS P4PE Motherboard (845PE Chipset)
- 1024MB Kingston DDR-SDRAM (2x 167MHz = 334MHz)
- GeForce 4 Ti4600
- Sound Blaster Audigy with Live!Drive
- ASUS DVD Drive
- ASUS CDRW

Recently, the graphics have been acting up on the computer and it was becoming painfully obvious (screens going wonky very often) that the Ti4600 was nearing the end of its life - I promptly replaced it with a XFX 6800XT, one of the better AGP graphics card I could find and afford (just).

However, recently when I play games, most notable Battlefield 2 and Warcraft 3, some time into the game (usually between 10 and 30 minutes) I would freeze up, and stay for about 20 seconds, occasionally still hearing sound as if the game were still being played.

Following this, the entire computer would reset (80% of the time) or would simply crash to desktop (20% of the time).

To date, I have tried:

- Updating all drivers
- Trying 5 different drivers for the 6800XT (using DriveCleaner to get me to where I am now, Forceware 96.89)
- Virus scanning and Spyware/Adware/Malware, the usual
- Updated DirectX and visited WindowsUpdate
- Flashed my BIOS to the newest version
- Removed all unused programs on my computer, almost stripping it to bare bones in terms of installed programs, then running registry cleanups
- Removed sides of the tower case to allow better cooling while playing games
- Disabled FastWrite
- Disabled WriteCombining