Sign in with
Your question

Reboot and select proper boot device.

Last response: in Systems
January 19, 2007 10:07:46 PM

This is my first build and I get this on boot.

I realize some of these specs don't matter, but I'll just give you a run down of my system. I'm running p5b mobo, 2gb ram, e6400, x1950xt, 160gb wd hdd (sata), cdrw drive (ide) (waiting until newegg mails my sata drive), those two are my only drives. In boot sequence I have the cdrw drive 1st then hdd 2nd, and 3rd device disabled. not sure how to set jumpers or anything, but I have tried every combination of jumpers on the cdrw drive. I have one ide cable plugged in from the cdrw to the mobo, and a sata connection from the hdd to the mobo (tried sata 1 and 3, maybe i'll go try sata 2 real quick). No matter what, I always get this message on boot. FWIW the mobo detects both the cdrw and hdd.

Any advice?

Oh, and another question. I looked through the bios, my cpu is sitting at 55C at idle before I even boot into windows (which isn't even installed yet). How bad is this?
January 19, 2007 10:52:14 PM

You aren't trying to install Vista are you - that's a DVD & won't run in a cd player (I actually did this in my friend's machine as I didn't even think about players not being able to play DVD's). Maybe your CDRW drive is toast, so try another drive (friend's, parents'...). Make sure the windows disk is not scratched; if it looks good and is genuine it should work fine. 55C seems high before boot up; should be more like 35. Make sure you applied the thermal coating right & didn't leave any packaging on, and that the heat sink is clipped tight.

Jo
January 19, 2007 10:55:11 PM

No, this is at boot without anything in the drive.

I configured BIOs, then got this error after leaving the BIOs.

Now my CPU is reading 83C??? WTF? Ugh, It's looking like I'm going to have to take this whole damn thing apart.
Related resources
January 19, 2007 11:02:34 PM

Quote: