Need Help with New System (first time building)

jphillips1868

Distinguished
Mar 4, 2006
I have never built a system before, but i'd like to try since I need to replace aging and I believe I can get a lot more for my money this way (P4 3.06, 1g rdram, 9700 pro system).

I will use the system primarily for gaming and want to run all the latest games with all the bells and whistles on, etc. I want it to be to some extent future proof. CPU will be for some everyday use as well. Assuming all goes well with the build, I hope to overclock it somewhat, say in the 3.2 range.

My intial thoughts on the build were:

Coolermaster CM Stacker 830
E6700 (most people here seem to think the E6600 is as good but cheaper, so I will probably go with that).
EVGA Nforce 680sli
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB DDR 800
2 WD Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s OEM
Cooler Master Real Power Pro 850
1 EVGA GTX 8800
Zalman 9500 (most here say the Tuniq Tower 120 is better, so I'l probably go with that.
TBD DVD/CD Drive
Maybe a multi card reader

As for the case, I know I'm spending quite a bit, but since this is the first rig I've ever built I kinda want to get a really nice case and I like the CM Stacker. My second choice would be a thermatake armour. However, I've read that the longer power supplies don't fit. More on that below. In general, I want a case that will last me a long time, perform well and isn't going to need any modification that requires welding metal cutting, etc. By the way what is a dremel?

I intially wanted to have the system in a position to add a second card later and go SLI (hence the nforce 680i and the 850 PSU). However folks on this board seem to have big concerns about the 680 motherboards and whether SLI makes sense. For me right now, it probably doesn't. I am still using a 19 CRT (max 1600 x 1200), but would eventually like to upgrade it as well.