Worth upgrading from an AMD64x2 3800+ ?

cronjob

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2007
I've been building my own machines for fifteen years; never bought a pre-built in my life. I'm a software engineer so the only time I get involved in hardware is when I'm leading up to building another box, which I do annually (with a budget of $1,500 to $3,000). It used to be a simple matter of going with AMD and buying at the price-break. Now, however, both brands have half a dozen lines of chips and the only way to really compare is through other people's experiences and benchmarks.

I built the following machine in November of 2005 and play most games at 2560x1600 with high/highest graphical settings. I pull 30+ FPS in Battlfield 2 with no problems and have had no complaints with any game until I started playing the MMORPG "Vanguard" recently, where I average around 10fps to 25fps at the low resolution of 1280x800 and settings at low to medium.

- AMD64x2 3800+
- A8N-Sli
- 2 GB RAM
- GeForce 7800 GTX (256mb)
- 10,000 RPM Raptor (SATA)
- 30" Apple Cinema Display

I am used to building a machine every year and knowing that the performance has at least doubled what I built the previous year. At the current time, I'm not seeing that this is the kind of performance increase I can expect. For example, benchmarks on Tom's seems to indicate that the performance difference between my 3800+ and a Core Duo E6800 / AMD64x2 5200 / FX-6x is around 20%. I'm not really willing to spend $500 to $1,000 on a CPU that only returns a 20% improvement.

So, the quandary I am in at the moment is whether or not there is an affordable configuration I could build right now that would offer remarkably greater performance that would hold me over for another 12-18 months when I get the itch to build another box comes? While I could afford to buy a $1,000 Intel Quad, I simply refuse to on principal (aside from the fact that I don't necessarily believe current gaming engines are designed to make use of it).