Sign in with
Your question

Final draft before purchase, gaming. Pls comment

Last response: in Systems
January 20, 2007 6:41:01 PM

I'm a first time builder and am planning an building a mid-high end gamer. I've revised part twice based on helps from everyone here. This is the final (hopefully) list before I buy this week. I can get all this for about $2200 on Newegg after rebates, and will buy a monitor locally. I'd appreciate any last minute part advice/ revisions. I'm not planning on doing a lot of overclocking, may try it a bit, but not pushing it. I'm planning on running the Raptors in SATA 0, and the Caviar as a separate storage drive. Thanks!

Thermaltake Armor Series VA8000BWS Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case

ASUS P5B Deluxe LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard

eVGA 640-P2-N821-AR GeForce 8800GTS

Thermaltake toughpower W0105RU ATX12V / EPS12V 700W Power Supply

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model

CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-6400C4

SONY Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive

Western Digital Raptor WD740ADFD 74GB 10,000 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive x 2 RAID0

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

Saitek PK02 2-Tone USB Standard Eclipse II Keyboard

Logitech G7 931375-0403 Black 6 Buttons 1 x Wheel USB RF Wireless Laser Mouse

LITE-ON 18X DVD±R DVD Burner With 12X DVD-RAM Write Black IDE

Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio 70SB079000000 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card

Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 SP2B with Vista Upgrade Coupon

Logitech Z-4 40 watts 2.1 Speaker

Thanks again
January 20, 2007 6:51:20 PM

If that mobo has good onboard sound, forget the soundcard.

XP Pro is no good unless you are a business running networks etc. After many problems, I have gone back to XP home. This may not save a lot of money, but will save troubles :)