Sign in with
Your question

How not to make a mistake on choosing parts on gaming pc.

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • SLI
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
January 21, 2007 11:31:22 PM

After 2 weeks of research and tips from this forum, here are the basics. I am no expert. I just thought this would help those starting to research.
1. CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6300 (2x 1.86GHz/2MB L2 Cache/1066FSB) or higher. This process can be over-clocked easily. Intel has AMD beat on overclocking. It is the cheapest of the core 2 processors.
2. Motherboard
[Quad-Core Support] Asus brand. Asus is the best. You can upgrade to a quad cpu later. 650i SLI Chipset is a good choice. You may want to SLI later but SLI as a start is not very efficent.
3. Power Supply
At least a 500 watt and SLI ready.
4. Video Card
Geforce 8 series. Why? Because it is Directx 10 compatible. A single SLI card.
5. Memory
I say at least 2 gigs. You need that for Windows Vista. You need Windows Vista to play ALAN WAKE.
6. Liquid CPU Cooling Fan System Kit
To overclock.

How much? I have configured it at IBUYPOWER.COM for under $1700.00.

More about : make mistake choosing parts gaming

January 21, 2007 11:40:11 PM

Here is the system for Total: USD $1,698.00

Case ( Standard ATX Mid-Tower Case w/350W Power Supply [no side window] Black )
Power Supply ( ** iBUYPOWER Recommended ** NZXT PF-500 500 Watt Power Supply )
Processor ( Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6300 (2x 1.86GHz/2MB L2 Cache/1066FSB) )
Processor Cooling ( CoolerMaster Liquid CPU Cooling Fan System Kit )
Motherboard ( [Quad-Core Support] Asus P5N-E SLI nForce® 650i SLI Chipset w/6-channel CODEC, Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0, IEEE-1394 Dual PCI-E MB )
Memory ( 2048MB [1024MB X2] DDR2-800 PC6400 Memory Module Corsair-Value or Major Brand )
Video Card ( [==New !!!==] NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB w/DVI + TV Out Video )
Hard Drive ( 320 GB HARD DRIVE [Serial-ATA-II, 3Gb, 7200 RPM, 16M Cache] )