New computer repair business with a few spots missing

afb1302

Distinguished
Aug 27, 2010
Hello all. I've just started a small in-home computer repair business in my town and I have a few things I need help with. I wonder if some of you who have already figured these things out would help prevent me from looking foolish in front of my customers.

The business is called dernCricket Computer Help and Repair. My site is at dernCricket.webs.com. I'm planning on charging 40$ per hour with a 1 hr minimum (trying to get customers). I also plan on working with customers who mention the price being high to make them happy.

I graduated from a Tech College with a 2 yr in Network Engineering. My certs are A+, Net+, Sec+, MCP, DCSE (Dell), I have about 10 other Dell Certs, and 2 HP/1 Xerox Laser Printer Certs.

My IT experience has been short lived jobs with Intergraph Corp (Helpdesk), US Army (Field Tech), Dell (Warranty Field Tech), Edward Jones Investments/ CBIZ (Network Field Tech). Don't ask why the jobs were short lived. It's called schizo-something but I prefer not to talk about it. dernCricket is where my heart is now.

But.

I have several questions if anyone of you would please mind answering.

--------------------

1. My Dell certs are 5 yrs old now. Should I stop claiming them?

2. Dell Mini-Towers. Are the motherboards upgradeable? Is that a micro-ATX board? (I can check that on Tigerdirect but I want to hear it from experience)

3. How to handle parts. I'm an in-home and small business tech. I was guessing that I could charge them a small fee for gas and just go get the part at the local best buy, or charge a small fee and help them order it online. But if I do end up going to Best Buy, who pays for the part? I'm broke and I can't just take my customers credit cards.