Sign in with
Your question

New build: advice/suggestions?

Last response: in Systems
January 23, 2007 5:39:35 PM

First, let me apologize for being the 465186th person to post his/her prospective build parts asking for suggestions or advice. I do appreciate whatever input you guys can give me, however 8)

My current rig is a P4 2.8E PrescHOT, ABIT IC7 mobo and GF 4 Ti4200 64MB AGP in a crappy Raidmax case that looks sweet but sounds like a jet engine. It's about 2.5 years old (longer for the video card, obviously, but she has served me quite well) and it's getting to be time to upgrade. I've been putting it off since about July 2006, waiting for C2D, etc. I've debated waiting till May-ish for the C2D price cuts (and an E6420 instead of E6400), but I dunno if I can make it that long. I used to do quite a bit of gaming, but lately the amount of gaming has dwindled due to being busy with class/working, and my lack of gaming horsepower, limiting the games I can play (UT2K4 and CS:S still run fine, though I can't wait for UT2K7). So, mostly I do the standard internet/email/word processing, with some occasional programming/compiling and photo work, plus lots of video encoding. I want to play UT2K7 when it comes out, plus I still haven't played Quake 4, FEAR, CoH, BF-anything besides 1942, etc, so there would be a good deal of gaming in the future for me. I've been reading around for a while here on Tom's and on Anandtech, and here's what I've come up with:

Processor
C2D E6400: I plan on OCing at least a little bit; not much further past 3Ghz. I'm intrigued by the new E4300 -- worth the savings or not? And should I wait for E6420 to get the extra 2MB cache?

Motherboard
Gigabyte DS3 or ASUS P5B-E: both are decent overclockers, I've read, but I'm not sure which is more OC friendly. I don't need any Wifi or other frills, just the basics. Firewire is a plus, even though I don't currently use it; possibly for video work if I get a hold of a camcorder in the future.

Memory