insan3

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2007
Hi,
I just built a whole new gaming rig. I still have my old computer, and I was wondering if there was a way to get all my programs onto my new computer (as in like Photoshop and Dreamweaver) without having to reinstall the programs?
Thanks for any help

insan3

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2007
I dont know if I explained it wrong, and it might be a stupid question. Im not very familiar with backing up systems, as this is my first build.

I kinda just meant do I really have to lose all my data?
Like not have to go back and download all those small programs.

again...im sorry if this is stupid question.

zjohnr

Distinguished
Aug 19, 2006
Hi,
I just built a whole new gaming rig. I still have my old computer, and I was wondering if there was a way to get all my programs onto my new computer (as in like Photoshop and Dreamweaver) without having to reinstall the programs?
Depending on what your situation is there are things you could try that would probably work. But there are no guarantees and simplying reinstalling might get you up and running quicker.

How interested are you in trying to pursue this?

-john

blue68f100

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2005
You data can be transfered over but you will need to install all of your applications.

You can remove the hd and install in your new to copy the files over. Or setup file sharing and transfer them over the network. HD to HD will be faster.

kukito

Distinguished
May 17, 2006
There are some utilities available such as Laplink's PC mover. Microsoft last year purchased Apptimum, the maker of similar utility called AlohaBob. This tool was renamed Windows Easy Transfer Companion as an addon to Vista's Windows Easy Transfer and is supposed help transfer not just files and settings but also programs. I heard it will become available from Microsoft once Vista launches but I'm not sure if it will work with XP.

insan3

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2007
Kukito, that was exactly what I was looking for.