shockeroo

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2007
I'm looking at upgrading my homebuild for a better framerate in EVE Online (which currently runs at about 25-40 most of the time, dropping to as low as 10-20 when it has to handle a lot of ships at once.) I was hoping someone could help me identify upgrading which part of my system would be of the greatest benefit, and possibly clue me in to some reasonably cost-effective options.

My current setup:

2.6Ghz Intel CPU (Unsure of exact type, but I don't buy Celerons)
on Gigabyte P4 Titan mb (again unsure of exact model)
Radeon 9550, 256MB (AGP)
1GB PC3200 DDR RAM

Nothing is presently overclocked, I have limited experience in that area but I'm willing to give anything a go. Any suggestions appreciated!

ragemonkey

Distinguished
Jun 26, 2006
The system by itself sounds capable. I'd venture to say your framerate may be improved by upgrading from the 9550.

You have 3 choices really. You can do nothing, you can try OCing the 9550 to get a bit more oomph out of it, or you can buy a bit better card. It all depends on your budget.

By no means is the 9550 is not a bad vid card, but it is limited and considered "entry-level". For the most part it is a slightly detuned/crippled 9600... but comes in 2 flavors, the 9550 (4pipe x 128bit memory) and the 9550SE (4pipe x 64bit memory). It is about what the 9600(non-pro)/9600SE used to be. There are still some real good AGP cards out there available for less than $100. I recently went from a 9600XT to a 9800pro (8pipe x 256bit memory interface) for $80 off newegg before they sold out and noticed a *big* difference. Slight overkill for a PC i threw together for the kid to junk up with her kiddie games but works well. Also, for a bit over $100 you could step up to something like an x800GTO which would be leaps and bounds greater than what you have now.

fredgiblet

Distinguished
Jul 8, 2006