Best Mobo for Intel's Extreme Edition QX6700

shadez3

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2007
I was just about to dump $7 grand on a custom Alienware system with the QX6700...then decided I should see how much I'd save if I built one...

I've always been an AMD fan so I'm new to the Intel chipset....I know I want the QX6700...but what is the best Mobo I can buy for it...

My machine will have dual SLI 8800 GTX's with 4 gigs of ram...

Purely a gaming rig....

Any advice is welcomed...

shinigamiX

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2006
I was just about to dump $7 grand on a custom Alienware system with the QX6700...then decided I should see how much I'd save if I built one...

I've always been an AMD fan so I'm new to the Intel chipset....I know I want the QX6700...but what is the best Mobo I can buy for it...

My machine will have dual SLI 8800 GTX's with 4 gigs of ram...

Purely a gaming rig....

Any advice is welcomed...
Try the EVGA 680i.

niz

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2003
Actually the 6800extreme is has a faster clock and overclocks better, and is cheaper.
Given that most games aren't multithreaded, thats pretty important.

These gaming benchmarks prove that the 6800 extreme and not the quad is the one to get for a pure gaming rig.

http://www.planetx64.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=419&Itemid=14&limit=1&limitstart=4

The other issue is that if you're planning to downgrade from XP to Vista (yes I know what I said) you may find that a "normal" vista licence will only cover/enable two cores unless you go for a very expensive server version of vista.

I just built a system with dual watercooling loops, passive and active cooling, two watercooled 8800 GTX's, striker extreme, 6800ex CPU, 2GB of corsair dominator 8888, enermax galaxy 1000w psu, 2 150GB raptors, for around 4 grand.

livingdead

Distinguished
Jan 25, 2007