n00b question!? - CPU install on LGA 775 board

jetshipjumbo

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2007
So this is my first build and I have a n00b question for y'all.

So I placed my processor into its socket as directed, no problems there. Stared at it for five minutes straight to make sure! Then I dropped the load plated over the processor and rotated the wire clamp into its locked position as designated. Here's where my question comes in:

I heard a few small creaks as I tightened the load plate while moving the clamp to its locked position. Is this normal? Was it the steel load plate stressing while being clamped shut, or maybe the mobo?

My computers runs fine right now, I'm just a little worried it might just up and die on me until I get some feedback!

I also heard a couple creaks when installing the heatsing on the CPU. The nuts weren't even tight on the bolt against the bracket when I heard them, they were pretty loose and took little effert twisting them on the bolt against the bracket when I heard the creaks. Was this the mobo? Again, should I worry?

Thanks for the feedback!

CtrlAltDel

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2005
I was surpriced how much the clamp needed force to get to its locked position, I guess it could have even made some noice, don't remember. What I can tell and others hopefully agree, is that if your computer is running fine, then everything is ok. If you would have screwed up, e.g. the cpu would have been incorrectly positioned, the pins would be broken, and the rig would not run at all.

About the heatsink, monitor your temps and see if they look reasonable. You should find plenty of threads discussing about reasonable temperatures (check the exact cpu model). Again, if you would have broken something, the computer would not start up properly. And if the heatsink would be somehow totally incorrectly positioned, your cpu would have blown up already, they last only some seconds without the heatsink being installed.

Hope this helps a bit.

fainis