Need help finding a router.

Crocodile

Distinguished
Sep 6, 2006
Hello One and All,

I’m new to Tom’s Forumz and this is my first post. I’m certain this will be an enjoyable and informative experience. I’m look forward to getting to know y’all and learn from you. As many of you probably know, working with PCs can turn ones hair prematurely gray, and start your hands shaking uncontrollably, so if I ever forget to say “thank you” or act like a fool, understand that this is simply an oversight or due to stress, so please accept right now both my thanks and apologies for those times I forget.

Now, on to the topic of this post. Right now, I’m running two PCs, with another Internet dedicated to be arriving as soon as I can buy the parts and build it. The thing is, I want to network the machines, but I’d like to give you my reasons and hope y’all can give me some constructive advice. My main reasons for networking are these: first, I’m really concerned with security, and while I’ll be running ZoneLab’s latest offering in software security (ZoneAlarm Security Suite), I’m really wanting to use the router mainly as a firewall, and second, my work area is around 10’ from the cable access for the modem, and I simply would like to avoid running RJ45 on the floor, as it’s not only likely to cause a tripping hazard but also, be damaged by the constant compression of my wheelchair tires passing over them. Really, that’s it. Two of my machines will never see the Internet and will either be networked together by a wired router or, more likely, a KVM switch box, since there’s not really that much that they’ll need to communicate about, and if I ever do, I’ve got a USB data transfer cable and software system I can hook-up at a moments notice. So, in a nutshell, a firewall and around 10’ of wireless distance are my only requirements.