Sign in with
Your question

First Build, highly appreciate some input

Last response: in Systems
January 26, 2007 10:01:37 PM

I have been reading up on hardware for two days now. I have assisted in putting together PCs before, but I have never done it alone. I don't think that should be too much of a problem as I am familiar with working inside the case.

My main problem lies in choosing the components. I have trolled this forum, and have read a lot of things, some of which are of opposing views.

The purpose of the PC will be gaming, and some academic software use when PhD in PoliSci starts next semester. Nothing too fancy I suppose, so I guess the main worry is gaming.

I have zero experience overclocking, but I do plan to give it a mild try with this machine. I am not willing however to spend too much time trying to get to peak ratings however. Key word is MILD OCing here.

So far I have:

-E6600
-DFI INFINITY 975X LGA 775 Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
-Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
-HIS Hightech H195PRF256DDN-R Radeon X1950PRO 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail
-CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 520W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Retail

RAM
-Kingston HyperX 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model KHX6400D2LLK2/2GN - Retail
or
-2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Kingston Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model KVR667D2N5K2/2G - Retail
or
-BUFFALO Firestix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory -

The case I am in doubt between:
110US$ NZXT Nemesis Elite Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
Item #: N82E16811146030

70US$ NZXT Apollo BLACK NP Black SECC Steel Chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail