Sign in with
Your question

first time build for gaming/overclock ~$800. need suggestion

Last response: in Systems
January 27, 2007 9:25:38 PM

well my parents old p2 has finally crapped out on them and they've decided to take my computer and let me build a new one :) . This is my first build and my first overclock so i wanted to check and make sure this setup will work and get me a decient overclock. Im looking for any suggestions, problems and improvements that this build might have.

I'm going to be using this computer mainly for gaiming and my budget is somewhere around $800. so i'm not really interested in spending alot of money for another .2 ghz on an overclock unless its gonna mean some significant fps. and i know it doesn't so i'm looking at a goal of about 3.2Ghz on either a e4300 or e6300 which seems resonable for a first build.

the setup:

cpu - e4300 or e6300 @~3.2ghz $180
ram - 1gb g.skil ddr2 800 $100
mobo - Gigabyte 965P-DS3 $125
psu - OCZ GameXStream(600w) $110 (after rebate)
cooler - COOLER MASTER RR-PCH-S9U1-GP $30
vido card - radeon x1950 pro $180
cheap case $40
old HD
old dvd/rw

for a grand total of $765

I'm having trouble deciding between the 6300 and the 4300 because they're both about the same price. the 6300 is a proven overclocker and will probably be able to reach a higher clock but the 4300 has a higher multiplier meaning i can go easier on the fsb which will ultimatly mean longer life and the possibility of 2gb of cheeper ram. i need alot of advice on this one. supposedly the 4300 will drop to $130 some time in q2 but i dont really see that happening.

i'm looking at buying only 1gb of ram. mainly because i just can't rationalize spending twice as much for something that isn't going to show twice the proformance. my question about this is how much is my final overclock going to drop if i decide to go with 2gbs of ddr2 667? or is 1gb of ddr2 800 even enough to hit 3.2 ghz?