Partitioning Drive

I have just built my first computer and I have a 320G Seagate hard drive. I have heard lots about partitioning the drive. I am planning on running Vista as my OS. How do you partition (in the bios?) and suggestions on how many partitions would be appreciated. Remember, I am very new to this stuff.
6 answers Last reply
More about partitioning drive
  1. If you don't plan to dual boot, then there are no performance advantages to multiple partitions. If it were me, I'd create a single partition.

Some people prefer to create a partition for the OS and another for data. If I were one of _those_ people, I'd likely make partitions of 50GB and 270GB, loading the OS on the 50GB. Why 50GB? Becasue there are a number of applications that don't like to be (or won't allow themselves to be) installed anywhere but the boot drive. 50GB may lose you some space, but I'd rather have that than to get to a point where I _have_ to reinstall the OS on a larger partition in order to install an app.

That's my argument for creating a single partition. If you _need_ to separate your data, create a C:\Data folder and use that.
  2. I suppose you have your reasons for wanting to create more than one partition.

Symantec bought "Partition Magic" (I think it was[?]) a couple of years back. I used it to create a partition on my laptop after the OS and apps were installed. Yeah, I was nervous the first time, but also had a ghost image backup in case the application sucked.

In the old days, you partioned using a bootable floppy. I do not know if there is even such a way to do something like that anymore with XP. I don't think so, but others here might know of something.

I like three things about Symantec's product:

One, you install it in Windows like any other app. You fire it up, and there is a very simple interface that asks you to decide the percentage of the total that you want for each partiition.