Sign in with
Your question

PSU current draw

Last response: in Components
January 30, 2007 2:15:00 AM

Can anyone tell me how much a 430W psu draws from the wall?

I know the output power is lower than the input, ie, to get 700W of power, it draws say 800W from the power point.

As far as i can tell, iv looked on different websites, CoolerMatser, TT, Antec and so on, yet they all say "Input Current 115VAC 10A/230VAC 5A.

This can't be true. All the PSU's ive looked at, wheather 350W, 500W, or 750 all say this.

So is there a way to calculate the power draw?

(I have a cooler master eXtreme Power 430W, Thermaltake Toughpower 750W, and an AOpen 250W PSU)

More about : psu current draw

January 30, 2007 2:43:21 AM

It's a function of the PSU's efficiency rating and the combined DC load at any given time (which varies on the PC's load demand - that varies greatly with the task at hand). So if you give the PCs detailed specifications you can estimate for idle and full 100% component load at best.

If you are calculating for a UPS unit you may want to consider the power factor as well since the reactive component can affect the runtime considerably. Active PFC is your friend in that case :wink:
January 30, 2007 2:47:30 AM

Well i need to know approximately (to the nearest 100) how many watts it draws. I need to calculate it as I have limited power sockets and need to balancee the laod between powerboards/power strips.

The psu I'm trying to work out is a 430W 70% effeciency typical, with no PFC.
Related resources
January 30, 2007 2:54:47 AM

Power (Watts) = Current (Amps) x Voltage (Volts) --- P=IxE
110v x 10a = 1100w max power draw from the outlet.