Dell GX270 motherboard replacement

Status
Not open for further replies.

hughtwg

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2007
Hi all this is my first time so be gentle.

The motherboard in my GX270 crapped out again so instead of replacing it with another GX270 motherboard I would like to get some recommendations on a non dell motherboard that will hopefully last more than 6 months. My main criteria is that I can reuse the processor ram and video card that are currently in my dead DELL.

I would like to replace the case also since DELL seems to use a unique system for mounting their motherboards so any recommendations along those lines would be appreciated also.

Here are the specs on my current Dell:
1 G0101 PROCESSOR, 80532, 3.0G, 512, 800FSB, SOCKET N
1 Y1057 PRINTED WIRING ASSY, PLANAR (MOTHERBOARD), GX270, DESKTOP, DELL COMPUTER CORPORATION, TRANSFORMER SKY DIVE MINITOWER
2 X3880 DUAL IN-LINE MEMORY MODULE, 512, 333M, 64X64, 8K, 184
1 H3873 HARD DRIVE, 80GB, I, 7.2K, WD-XL80S, 80G/PA

Nvidia GeForce 7600 AGP graphics card.

thanks,
Hugh

sweetpants

Distinguished
Jul 5, 2006
To be quite honest your best option is to probably call Dell and have them replace the motherboard. The GX270's most likely have a propietary fit to the motherboards?

G

Another option is to get a new case and PSU along with a new mobo and reuse all the old parts from your dell like the CD/DVD, RAM, CPU etc...

Possibly go to Newegg.com or tigerdirect.com and look for a barebones system.

Just make sure it supports IDE hard drives, P4 CPU, AGP graphics, and your memory chips which are DDR I think.

PS the dell probably had on board sound so you will need to get a new mobo with on board sound or possibly a new sound card if it doesn't. That is more up to you on which you choose.

G