Sign in with
Your question

Access Point and Router Help

Last response: in Wireless Networking
September 16, 2006 11:01:52 PM

Bare with me I’m new to networking.

I have a LINKSYS WRT54GS speedboast wireless router and a LINKSYS WMP54GS card. I have had this setup for a few months. My main computer is hooked up to the router in my room using the built in switch. I have a comp in the garage that has the WMP54GS card and works ok. I just got a Netgear WG302 ProSafe Wireless Access Point that I would like to use and stop using the WRT54GS wireless feature. I can access the Linksys setup by going to 192.168.1.1 no problem and turn off the wireless feature on the Linksys. The new Netgear access point does not come with a setup disc but wants me to change my main computer to a static IP of 192.168.0.210. After I do this it then tells me to enter 192.168.0.228 in my browser and it works. This seems to be a major conflict because then I cant get it to work with my router they have a different IP. So basically I need to know how I can enable the access point to work with my router or switch.

More about : access point router

September 25, 2006 1:48:03 AM

You need to change the IP address of the Netgear AP to something compatible with your current network, like 192.168.1.254. Or you could just leave it as is, since the AP doesn't even technically need an IP address. In other words, if it is really an AP and not a router, then it should work just by plugging it into the network. AP is a layer 2 device and does not care about IP addresses, the only reason it even needs an IP address is so you can configure it. So just configure it the way you want it and then change your IP on your computer back to DHCP.
September 25, 2006 7:57:35 PM