tell me about power supplies...

xdementia

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2007
Hi everyone, I just got a new rig, a decent one core 2 duo 2.4ghz with a Asus P5N32 Motherboard etc. My issue right now is that it is pretty unstable, it crashes all the time completely freezing up everything. I am suspecting the power supply right now because I was listening to some music and the volume was jumping from quiet to loud and back.

I am pretty new at this so could someone please give me a run down on power supplies? What do the numbers on the switch mean (mine has 115 showing), what should I have it set to?

Thanks.

tool_462

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2006
If it indeed is the PSU, see Valtiel's sig for a great article on PSU quality rankings by some very trusted individuals. The list is constantly under the microscope and they delve further into details than you or I could ever care enough about to rank the PSU's well.

What PSU do you have? Also what graphics card/sound card do you have?

tool_462

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2006
Should easily power your system. I suspect sound card issues. Are onboard drivers uninstalled and onboard sound turned off in BIOS? New sound card drivers installed correctly?

Your PSU looks fine so start by checking your drivers as tool sugests.

Also, what are the rest of your system componets?
Have you overclocked anything or changed any of your bios settings?

sailer

Splendid
Yea just read the 101 page - good info.

My specs are:

graphics card - NVIDIA GeForce 7300 LE
audio card - m-audio audiophile 192 PCI card
PSU - NZXT. PP500 (I think it's pretty generic) - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817116003

the power calculator said I needed at least 299W