Sign in with
Your question

Extreme X6800 2.93GHz - Am I running @2.93GHz?

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
January 31, 2007 6:54:31 PM

Right now, the only monitoring tool I have is the NVidia Monitor. I could swear it says CPU @18xx. Is this the speed of my processor or do I need to download something to actually test it? Same thing with my memory.

I get a little lost when it comes to some of the BIOS setting and speeds of different hardware. So I'm a newb when it comes to this stuff.

Here's my setup:
Thermaltake Armor Case
EVGA 680i Motherboard w/SLI
Extreme X6800 2.93GHz
Zalman 9500 CPU Cooler
4 gig Kingston Hyper X DDR2 800
(2) WD 150g Raptors in Raid 0
(2) EVGA 8800GTX in SLI
Creative X-treme Gamer
BFG 1000w Power Supply
January 31, 2007 6:58:55 PM

I think Intel has a CPU utility on their site that could help. I'll see if I can find a link for you.

HERE:

CPU ID
January 31, 2007 7:30:32 PM

Quote:
Right now, the only monitoring tool I have is the NVidia Monitor. I could swear it says CPU @18xx. Is this the speed of my processor or do I need to download something to actually test it? Same thing with my memory.

I get a little lost when it comes to some of the BIOS setting and speeds of different hardware. So I'm a newb when it comes to this stuff.

Here's my setup:
Thermaltake Armor Case
Extreme X6800 2.93GHz
Zalman 9500 CPU Cooler
(2) EVGA 8800GTX in SLI
Creative X-treme Gamer
BFG 1000w Power Supply

Dude, your system is totally f*cked. Send it to me and I'll see what I can do with it. I doubt I'll be able to return it though, seeing as it's so badly damaged. So I think I'll just keep it as an example of just how bad computers can screw up.

Seriously though. it's probably SpeedSteep, which is when the CPU throttles itself to save power when it's not being taxed. When the CPU is given a demanding task it will go back running@full speed.
Related resources
January 31, 2007 7:35:07 PM

All that power... tell me you'll at least overclock it.