Sign in with
Your question

Help an extreme newb

Last response: in CPUs
February 2, 2007 1:54:52 AM

i hope i aint breaking any rules, im a little short on time so i dont reli have time to look through the forum. if i am breaking any rules delete this post

my problem is this - my present comp is ancient, since year 2000, its falling apart, and it just broke. i wanna buy an ENTIRELY new computer. I've been though a few "beginners guides to doing it yourself", but even these i didnt understand.

Im a super noob, and i mean super, the only thing i know between AGP n PCI express is that they wont fit in the same motherboard.

What i need is a guide to how to build my own comp. Im a gamer - Dota, NWN2 n stuff, n my comp is starting to be unable to cope with the graphics.

I have aproximately 1000US$ to buy this comp, can someone guide me? or maybe give me a link to a guide for newbies like me, i'd appreciate any help

More about : extreme newb

February 2, 2007 2:09:58 AM

Read everything about the Core 2 Duos, those are the cpus that your going to use when you build this pc. Check X-bit labs, Hexus, AnandTech, VR-Zone, THG, and Ars Technica often, whilst researching those sites are going to be your best friend.
February 2, 2007 2:14:42 AM

Hmm, good luck. If you need to know anything, don't be afraid to PM me. I'm pretty much always near a computer.
Related resources
February 2, 2007 2:17:22 AM

I can help as well, im pretty much never not near a computer.
February 2, 2007 2:36:32 AM

Well iam not ever at the right time on a computer when nature calls. :lol: 
February 2, 2007 2:38:22 AM

Quote:
You may want to go to the general homebuilt section and browse it a little. Many people go there for help on what to buy and such. Also here are some links from Tom's on how to build a pc.
http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/11/20/how_to_build_par...
http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/12/04/choosing-the-rig...
http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/12/14/how-to-build-a-p...