Help an extreme newb

i hope i aint breaking any rules, im a little short on time so i dont reli have time to look through the forum. if i am breaking any rules delete this post

my problem is this - my present comp is ancient, since year 2000, its falling apart, and it just broke. i wanna buy an ENTIRELY new computer. I've been though a few "beginners guides to doing it yourself", but even these i didnt understand.

Im a super noob, and i mean super, the only thing i know between AGP n PCI express is that they wont fit in the same motherboard.

What i need is a guide to how to build my own comp. Im a gamer - Dota, NWN2 n stuff, n my comp is starting to be unable to cope with the graphics.

I have aproximately 1000US$ to buy this comp, can someone guide me? or maybe give me a link to a guide for newbies like me, i'd appreciate any help
18 answers Last reply
More about help extreme newb
  1. Read everything about the Core 2 Duos, those are the cpus that your going to use when you build this pc. Check X-bit labs, Hexus, AnandTech, VR-Zone, THG, and Ars Technica often, whilst researching those sites are going to be your best friend.
  2. Hmm, good luck. If you need to know anything, don't be afraid to PM me. I'm pretty much always near a computer.
  3. I can help as well, im pretty much never not near a computer.
  4. Well iam not ever at the right time on a computer when nature calls. :lol:
  5. Quote:
    You may want to go to the general homebuilt section and browse it a little. Many people go there for help on what to buy and such. Also here are some links from Tom's on how to build a pc.
    http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/11/20/how_to_build_part_1/
    http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/12/04/choosing-the-right-vender/
    http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/12/14/how-to-build-a-pc-part-3/
    As always a little research can go a long way.

yes, i tried these guides, but i only partly understand them. I have no idea which parts to choose