Sign in with
Your question

Netgear\'s Breakthrough SSL VPN Gateway

Last response: in Toms Network
September 26, 2006 2:01:35 PM

Phillip Howell finds that Netgear's under-$500 SSL VPN blue box is poised to take some business from its bigger cousins.
September 29, 2006 2:36:37 PM

I'm a bit new to vpn's.
Is this device designed to be accessed from the outside?
If so, would you have to port forward 443 on your router or firewall to this device?
In the article it seems to describe everything on a LAN.
How would you configure it to be accessed from home?
Netgear has no documentation on it.
September 29, 2006 4:09:41 PM

Netgear isn't the only one, Take a look to Sonicwall SSL VPN 100. For the same price you get a very good SSL box.

Anyway, for proffesional firewall, Checkpoint FW, Cisco PIX/ASA, Juniper/Netscreen, i know them all. Sonicwall also have a wide product portofolio and *VERY* good firewall products for a *VERY* good price. It got almost the same capabilities as the PIX or this Juniper/Netscreens.
Read good: I say *almost* the same, beacuse Sonicwall doesn't do Actice/Actie full state :(  (yet)

Ok, yes, i like Sonicwall, because it's by *FAR* the easiest firewall to deploy, also when using Enhanced OS, it is by *FAR* much better GUI configurable then like PIX/ASA.... (i work with all of those guys).
The PIX/ASA GUI for the firewall version 7.1 is *HORRIBLE* to use... it still isn't intuitive.

My favorit firewalls to play withm Checkpoint & Sonicwall.

Less favorit firewalls, PIX/ASA & Watchguard....(don't conisder ever to use Watchguard in a proffesional enviroment).
Related resources
September 29, 2006 11:11:45 PM

PL6,