Sign in with
Your question

Not your typical "this is my first build"---

Last response: in Systems
February 4, 2007 4:20:23 AM

Hello all.

First off, I give you all respect for the information you all share with each other. If only other hobbies/industries were so forthcoming with information!

Anyway, the reason this is not a "this is my first build" thread is because I find those very funny and annoying. "This is my first build for 1500 what do i do?!" I have wanted to build a comp for over 7 years and finally am going to give it a shot. But it's not so much building the cpu that interests me, its the fact that over the past 3 weeks of spending 3-4 hours a day on this and other forums, I learned an incredible amount of information. I would like to thank all of you, because I probably gained a little insight from each one already.

I plan on using my computer for gaming. I love MMO/RPG/FPS games. Not as much as I used to (not my choice - I recently got married). I want to be able to expand and build off of this for a very long time.

I come at my 11th hour to post and ask for your final opinion and to make sure I don't spend a good amount of money with nothing being compatible.

CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1681... ( I will probably over clock eventually. Not by much. I am a conservative person by nature so as I get used to over clocking i will maybe push it more)

MOBO - Asus P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP Motherboard http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1681... (My choice is this or the gigabyte DS3) I am looking for a good board that is easy to use/overclock. Obviously I save 50$ with the gigabyte however I think the Asus offers me a potential crossfire future (am i right or completely wrong - i got smart but not that smart!)

HD - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS 320GB Hard Drive