First time, help building high-performance rig

Jazzkokehead

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2007
Hello everyone! In the past, I've always bought pre-built computers, but this is my first time building my own computer, to be used for gaming as well as 3D and graphics work. I'd like to think that my selections are pretty good, but I'm sure many of you have been doing this much longer than I have and know better than I do. I'd appreciate it if you could help me by checking for potential compatability issues and offering suggestions if you have them.

CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6700
Motherboard:EVGA nForce 680i SLI
Video Card: EVGA GeForce 8800GTX KO
Hard drive: Seagate Barracuda 320GB (x2 in RAID 0)
RAM:Corsair XMS2 2GB
PSU: Silverstone ST75F 750W
Cooler: Zalman 9700
Drive: LG 18X DVD+/-R DVD Burner
Case: Gigabyte 3D Aurora
Speakers: Logitech THX Z-5300e

I also had a few questions I'm hoping someone could answer:

1. I picked one of the best Nvidia cards out right now, but do you think that it's worth waiting for ATI's R600? In which case I would need to pick out a different motherboard.

2. I'm not 100% sure that the RAM I've selected is compatible with the motherboard. The list I found on EVGA's website has Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4; I have TWIN2X2048-6400C4PRO. How different are the two?

3. How good good is the power supply I have? I'm thinking I'll probably need at least around 600W, plus some if I ever add more RAM or overclock. It's tough finding a good yet affordable power supply that's 600W or more, and if you have any suggestions I'd like to hear them.

4. Speaking of overclocking, I'd like to make sure that my PC is at least somewhat overclockable. I'm not planning to have to, not for a while at least, but I'd still like the option to be there.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Rockwild

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2007
Looks good,

I also had a few questions I'm hoping someone could answer: