Sign in with
Your question

Bad Luck or my Screwup

Last response: in Overclocking
February 4, 2007 11:50:40 PM

So, I am adjusting some bios settings doing some OCing on my old computer, and after about 4 adjustment and reboots I got this dreaded error message:

C:\windows\system32\config\system
is missing or corrupted

This had never happened to me before in all the previous adjustments with bios. So, I am wondering if it was just bad luck or did I cause the error with my bios adjustments? I am still new at OCing and ignorant of some of the common consequences.

More about : bad luck screwup

February 5, 2007 12:12:53 AM

Quote:
So, I am adjusting some bios settings doing some OCing on my old computer, and after about 4 adjustment and reboots I got this dreaded error message:

This had never happened to me before in all the previous adjustments with bios. So, I am wondering if it was just bad luck or did I cause the error with my bios adjustments? I am still new at OCing and ignorant of some of the common consequences.

You may have OC'ed too high. Go back to stock settings to see if the comp will boot the OS. Then take it up gradually. Where were you at when you had this happen?
February 7, 2007 12:20:25 PM

Like RJ said, this could be caused by OC, if for example you have inadvertently overclocked the HD controller. Certain chipsets will show a PCIe clock in the BIOS that is wrong, so it will say 100, but will be running overclocked. Might do some searches for your MB to see if it has this problem.

I have had this randomly happen to me in the past, no changes whatsoever, turn on computer in the morning, and get this error. It was in the days before XP and I resys'd the drive and it was fine. I don't know troubleshooting steps for XP.

So, if you go back to stock and it is still happening you might have just been unlucky. Check cabling, do some searches for recovering, or format and reinstall.
Related resources
February 7, 2007 7:02:58 PM

Quote: