question about Macs

mrmjs

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2006
Hello,
I have a few friends who are graphic designers who all use Mac Pro's and all I ever hear from them is how great the MAC is and how bad a PC is.. well I just dont see it. I've used the Mac for Photoshop CS2, Flash and Dreamweaver and they dont seem to run any better on a mac as they do on my pc.. so whats the real story here??

also, the Mac PRO is $2500 with these specs

* Two 2.66GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon "Woodcrest" processors
* 1GB memory (667MHz DDR2 fully-buffered DIMM ECC)
* NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT graphics with 256MB memory
* 250GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s 7200-rpm hard drive1
* 16x double-layer SuperDrive

Says two 2.66GHz Dual-Cores.. that means it has two cpu's with two cores right? giving you 4 cores total??

revel911

Distinguished
Sep 16, 2006
Yes, 2 Processors with Dual cores.

You know, I am a Graphci Designer and I went at it with a sign shop I order from b/c they use Macs. Mac people are always overzealous about their product. I have used both and can't tell a difference.

Eviltwin17

Distinguished
Feb 21, 2006
there is no difference, the reason mac users hate pc's so much is because mac OSx is better than windows. Also the fact that editing and stuff used to be alot better on macs, nowadays though its not so much. The ease of use is the only difference now.

ajfink

Distinguished
Dec 3, 2006
there is no difference, the reason mac users hate pc's so much is because mac OSx is better than windows. Also the fact that editing and stuff used to be alot better on macs, nowadays though its not so much. The ease of use is the only difference now.

They claim OSX is better than Windows. I disagree.

A lot of Mac fans are just fanboys that like to claim that their way is better. Ignore them, find what works best for you and what you prefer.

You can build a comparable or better system yourself for the price of those Mac Pros.

Kamrooz

Distinguished
Feb 8, 2007