Can I use my old Compaq copy of Win 98 on new CPU?

G

This is my first time posting here and I was wondering if any of you could help me out. My old Compaq computer has bit the dust and I'm going to scrap a couple parts from it and build a new computer from scratch. I'm uncertain as to whether I'll be able to use my Windows 98 CD I received with the Compaq computer. It's not a stock CD from Microsoft, the OS is included on a Compaq CD. Does anyone know if there are proprietary items that will prevent this from installing on a non-Compaq computer. I don't have an unlimited budget, and if I need to purchase a new copy of Windows 98 (BOO), I need to build it into my budget. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

dhlucke

Polypheme
Can't speak on behalf of Compaq, but I know that Dell's work on any computer. I really don't understand what the difference is anyways. Maybe they just make sure that the drivers for compaq/dell computers are definitely on the cd..

Give it a try at the very least....

<font color=red>Change the sig of the week!</font color=red>

Arrow

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
Yeah, I think that's it, and they usually also have some preinstalled software.

Rob
Please visit <b><A HREF="http://www.ncix.com/canada/index.cfm?affiliateid=319048" target="_new">http://www.ncix.com/canada/index.cfm?affiliateid=319048</A></b>

tdean

Distinguished
May 4, 2001
i dont think it will.... i tried before and as someone explained, it has something to do with the setup program finding the origional hardware before it runs the os isntall. so i guess thats 2 "yeah" and 1 "nay" so far. i had even tried copying the files directly from the cd to the hard drive. i forget exactly what error i got but i do remember i was unable to do it.

...and i would have gotten away with it, if it weren't for you meddling kids...

hammerhead

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2001
Agree with tdean. I tried this a few years ago with no success.