$1200Canadian first timer

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Computer
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
February 10, 2007 10:25:24 PM

Hi,

I've never built my own pc before and am hoping for some advice...

I use my computer mainly for work, and media, editing, DVDs ETc. And am not a hardcore gamer, but wouldn't mind building something that is adaqute to play some games..

So far I have two Viewsonic 2235 Widescreen displays.

But could use advice for all other parts....

My budget is around 1200$ give or take a couple hundred...
Thanks for your help!!!!

More about : 1200canadian timer

February 10, 2007 11:24:26 PM

What is your budget? Need that to start. Give a dollar amount and be sure to say it's in Canadian dollars. Likely you'll get a lot prices that would be converted to Canadian from US and I believe prices are generally higher up there.
February 10, 2007 11:46:51 PM

generally? an 8800GTX costs 569.99 in the US, up here in Canada it costs 669.99; a full one hundred dollar difference. some stuff like processors are even more expensive, too bad newegg doesn't ship to us;i guess they cant get to the igloos :D 

l8er :) 
Related resources
February 11, 2007 2:07:12 PM

Quote:
Reference ID:1009467747
Del Item Description In Stock Part # QTY Price Ext. Price
Asus ATI Radeon X1950Pro 256MB DVI/HDTV PCI-Expres
This item is a special order item. Additional delays may occur depending on supplier availability. You can cancel this item for a full refund before it ships.
5-10 Business Days 666672639 $223.35 $223.35
Gigabyte GA-965P-S3 ATX LGA775 Conroe P965 DDR2 PCI-E16 3PCI-E1 3PCI SATA2 GBLAN Audio Motherboard
In Stock 19870 $157.55 $157.55
OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-800 CL5-5-5-12 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit
In Stock 18495 $267.81 $267.81
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250GB SATA 3GB/S 7200RPM 16MB Cache Hard Drive 5YR MFR Warranty
In Stock 18729 $105.11 $105.11