Sign in with
Your question

Looking for a good psu.

Last response: in Components
February 11, 2007 1:45:09 AM

Hi im a first time builder and all that matters too me is stabilty. I am looking for a psu that can power and oc this sytem:

C2D e4300@3-3.3ghz
2x80mm case fan, 1x120mm case fan.
gigabyte-s3 mobo
2gbs of corsair xms memory 4 modules(ddr2)
1x160gb hd
1xdvd rom drive
8300gs (dx10 card)
and possibly another drive...

P.s my budget is $70 max
thanks ;D

More about : good psu

February 11, 2007 3:55:55 AM

Unfortunatly most of those are out of my price range besides the few 28amp psus.

Quote:
Now chances are with the power needs of the 8300 you can get away with abour 32A on the combined +12v rails

When you say "combined +12v rails do you mean? Im sorry im not very educated in the PSU department. ;D

Thanks for your help mpilchfamily I really appreciate it. ;) 
Related resources
February 11, 2007 4:38:46 PM

I was thinking the power demands were a bit lower...

Quote:
eXtreme PSU calc"]System Type: Single Processor
Motherboard: Regular - Desktop
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme X6800 2930 MHz Conroe
CPU Utilization (TDP): 100% TDP

SATA HDD: 2 HDDs

DVD-RW/DVD+RW Drive: 1 Drive

Fans
Regular: 1 Fan 80mm; 1 Fan 120mm;

Keyboard and mouse: Yes

PSU Utilization: 100 %

Total: 171 Watts
[/url]

Went w/ the X6800 since I wasn't sure how much you want to oc. Combined with this:

Quote:
The Truth About Graphics Power Requirements V2"]nVidia Single Cards
---------------------------------

8800 GTX ________}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}|' 155W ^
8800 GTS ________}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}|' 115W ^
[/url]

Together that is 286w or ~24A in the absolute-worst-case-nearly-impossible-to-obtain +12v demand :wink: