Distinguished
May 12, 2006
My system Specs: Socket 939
3500+ AMD @2.41Ghz
Kingston HyperX gaming 2X512 MB Dual Channel DDR 3200
ECS KN1 Elite Mobo
420 Watt PSU
Current temp: Core Cpu 33C

My question is that how high is it possible to OC the CPU. And what is multiplier that people are tlalking about ?? I dont see multiplier in my mobo settings. Thanks for all your help as you can see its my first time doing this. Thanks. And can I push my memory a bit further. does that mean I will have to increase the voltage?

yakyb

Distinguished
Jun 14, 2006
i have gotten my 3500 to 2.6 stable multi is locked so you dont need to worry bout that i havnt heard of anyone getting much higher than 2.6 2.7 im only cooling this Proc on air if you went water cooling im sure you could get better

The_OGS

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2006
Hi trencin,
You Socket939 guys are limited by PC3200 memory which runs @ max spec without any CPU OC.
PC3500 is available to help you hit ~250 HT FSB and get that nice 25% OC, which would be ~2.75GHz for you!
But it just means you must OC your memory in order to OC your CPU, so it becomes more difficult - a chain is only as strong as its weakest link, right?
So relax your memory timings completely and yes, increase the memory voltage cautiously...
what is multiplier that people are tlalking about ?
Well, the CPU multiplier is 'locked' at 11x if that's what you mean - but people don't talk about it much, heheh...
Perhaps you are referring to all the Intel OCers who have various memory multipliers to work with whilst OCing their rigs. We can adjust memory speed so only the CPU is being overclocked, and memory is not a factor.
You however must OC both HT FSB and memory, together, and it will be difficult for you to determine which is the limiting factor when you eventually hit 'the wall'...
Regards

trencin

Distinguished
May 12, 2006