Sign in with
Your question

Building new system, suggestions? Vista or not?

Last response: in Systems

Go to vista on new rig, or stick with XP?

Total: 13 votes

• Go vista!
  • 16 %
  • Stay XP!
  • 39 %
  • Dual-Boot!
  • 47 %
February 11, 2007 6:06:18 PM

I filed my refund last night online and am expecting to get a decent amount back for 1337 computer gearz :)  I'm a computer tech and have tons of leftover parts from random projects over the months... so some of the parts necessary to make a working computer I already have (I just need it to work for now... I'll concentrate on speed later)

Current Rig:
Antec Super LANBoy Case
Antec SmartPower 450 PSU
DFI LANParty UT nF3 250Gb Motherboard
AMD Athlon64 3200+ Newcastle
3 x 512MB Kingston ValueRAM
74GB Western Digital Raptor (8MB Cache) (O/S, Apps, Games)
160GB Hitachi SATA drive (Data Storage)
eVGA GeForce 7600GS AGP video card
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 sound card
Sony DVDRW DRU-710A
2 x 18.3" Gateway FPD1830 Flat-Panel monitors (have 3, all new inverters)

Case: ThermalTake Armor (room for G80 / R600) $150
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1681...

Power Supply: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Retail $200

Motherboard: eVGA 680i SLI Retail (with manual) $249

Processor: 3.4GHz P4 LGA775 w/ HT (I already have this)
will get Intel C2D E6600 Retail later on
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1681... $320

RAM: 4 x 512MB PC4200 Samsung RAM (I already have this)
(will get better ram later on...)

Hard Drive: 74GB Raptor for O/S, Apps, and Games (I Already have this)
(will get a Raptor 150X later on for just games)
160GB Hitachi SATA Drive for just data storage (I already have this)
(Will get an external backup as well; have the drive, need the enclosure)

Video Card: ATi X600 Pro 128MB (I already have this)
(waiting for R600 public release and cheaper G80's)

Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (I already have this)