Corsair PC2 8888, 3GB possible?

joejones

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2007
I'm relatively new to high end PCs, but I just bought a new system.
I've been doing a lot of research and come to the conclusion that RAM is very confusing.

To start, my system:
eVGA 680i SLI nForce
Extreme QX6700 Quad
Dual 768MB NVIDIA 8800GTX
Corsair PC2 8888 RAM 2 GB
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145044
Windows Vista 32bit Premium

I, as others have suggested, would like to optimize my performance by going to 4 GB for extreme gaming. As has been stated many times before, using 4 DIMMs reduces performance and therefore the true benefits of the PC 8888 would never be realized.

Here are my questions:
(1) I know 32 bit is limited to 3.2 GB seen at any one time. I know that the PC 8888 comes as a pair of 1 GB RAM, but what if you only used 3 x 1GB of the RAM at once. You would not be using 4 DIMMs and therefore shouldn't take the performance hit. would would the clock speed be then? I would waste 1 GB, but maybe it could just be split with someone else in a similar situation.
(2) I was also hoping someone could better explain what exactly happens when you use 4 DIMMs. I have read that a MB will drop the clock speed to 667MHz automatically. Would it matter if you started at 1111MHz or 800MHz? Is it a relative drop or an absolute drop in clock speed? Would they both clock down to 667MHz just the same?
(3) I also read that with 4 DIMMs your rate command drops from 1T to 2T. Is this true for all MBs? How and where do I find information like this. It is never clearly stated anywhere. Does the other latency timings also change?

All this does not make much sense. Basically, if you run vista 32, right now if you use top end DDR2, you are stuck with 2 GB or you will just really be throwing your money down the drain for equal or maybe even lower performance.