Sign in with
Your question

Absolute safest overlock for Asus P5B Deluxe?

Last response: in Overclocking
February 12, 2007 4:07:18 PM

Hey all - I'm a complete newbie when it comes to overclocking, and frankly have been quite hesitant about doing it. However, I've been told the P5B is a phenomenal overlclocker, and from what I've read, it's pretty safe to conservatively push the E6600 C2D to about 3Ghz. I'm using 2GB of Corsair PC-6400 (set at DDR-800 in the BIOS) and was wondering what would be the absolute safest overclock keeping the following in mind:

1. I'm using only standard air-cooling. This includes the stock fan, as well as two case fans.

2. I don't want to mess with the voltage at all - I've burned more than enough stuff for a lifetime!

3. The changes I make, if they fail, won't destroy any internal components and can be easily reversed.

So, basically, I'd like to do some mild overlclocking (none of the crazy 400Mhz FSB stuff) to bump up the CPU some. But, being new at this and after investing a fair amount in this new system, I'd like to keep it purely safe.

If you'd be willing to give me your thoughts, I'd be most appreciative. If you need any more info about my system, I will be happy to provide it. And if you honestly feel I shouldn't be dabbling with overclocking at all, I will certainly appreciate that opinion, as well. Thanks!
February 12, 2007 4:38:02 PM

i would normally not recommend this but in your case id say use asus' overclocking software
February 12, 2007 4:56:11 PM

Quote:
i would normally not recommend this but in your case id say use asus' overclocking software

Why wouldn't you normally recommend it? Is it not safe?
Related resources
February 12, 2007 5:14:09 PM