Free beer for build help (I'm completely new at this)

irisheyes151

Distinguished
Feb 13, 2007
Seriously, I'll find a way to get someone a beer if they can hit a home run on this build.
It's my first time building, and I've spent about a week straight reading (mostly on this site and newegg reviews), but there are still too many options out there for me to really nail it down. So here are my requirements:

$800ish (not including monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers); To be built in late March, early April.

Its primary task will be long hours of Command and Conquer 3, and probably some FEAR. I'd like it to be upgradable for at least 2-3 years, so a decent mobo, psu to buld off of later on. Here's what I'm leaning towards based on today's prices. This is everything but the gpu, which has been the hardest decision for me:

CPU: Athalon 64 X2 4000+ (socket AM2) ($145)
Mobo: MSI K9N4 SLI-F AM2 nForce500 ($85)
Memory: CORSAIR XMS2 (1Gx2) DDR2 675 ($169)
HDD: WD Caviar SE16 250GB 7200 SATA ($75)
Case: Centurian ($50)
PSU: Thermaltake Purepower 600w ($105)

That comes to about $630, which only leaves about $170 for the GPU. If any of this seems like over/under kill - or if the whole thing looks way off, let me know. Also, if anyone could tell me the best choice for an operating system. I'd assume Vista is a dumb move, but let me know what you think.

Thanks!

PC_Side_Line

Distinguished
Feb 7, 2007
SAm Adams Lager fer me.

u should read this article before u buy ur board with the nforce500 on it.

http://www.techspot.com/news/22174-whql-nvidia-drivers-may-cause-problems-with-nforce-500-series.html

That's a start to help u avoid certain vid cards if u are set on the mobo with the nf500.

And assuming u are brand new to building a pc from scratch, here's a good article i wrote to many others that took me about 2 hrs.....theres more to know such as in cable polarity.

But if u do a build on your own, it needs to be done right the 1st time.

-----------------------