Sign in with
Your question

Need help OC Opteron 165

Last response: in Overclocking
February 16, 2007 5:43:14 PM

Hi guys, i need help overcloking my Opteron 165
I'm not a noob but i'm not a pro

One question i was wondering, i know that you need to adjust the memory timings higher to get a better overclock. I was wondering if i could just let the timings on AUTO and overclock as high as if i had the timings on manual ?

Also, if any of you ever had a high successfull OC opteron 165, to what GHZ did you OC it and at what Vcore ?

The higher i got it to run is from 1.8 ghz to 2.25 ghz with the base vcore of 1.35

Any advice ?

thanks

More about : opteron 165

February 16, 2007 6:18:00 PM

I've got an Opteron 165 overclocked to 2.75GHz on stock voltage. I would be surprised if you couldn't achieve at least 2.6GHz.

This guide will tell you what you need to know:

http://www.neoseeker.com/Articles/Hardware/Guides/a64oc...

Four basics:

1) You must reduce your HT multiplier. If you don't do that, you will be unwittingly hit a wall with your HT bus, not your processor
2) You must set a RAM divider. This sets your RAM to a lower speed than your FSB. If you don't do that, you will be hitting your RAM limits, not your processor
3) Your board may hit its FSB limit before your chip does (cos the 165 only has 9x multiplier). To test this set your chip, RAM, HT to very low levels and raise the FSB until it gets unstable.
4) Make sure your BIOS is the latest version - this made a big difference for me for the FSB limit.

Apologies if you know any of the above, and good luck - let us know how you do!
February 16, 2007 6:27:33 PM

Ya thanks for the advice, i already played with the memory timing, my FSB is currently at 250 mhz and i setted the memory at 5/6 which brings it down to 208 mhz (416 mhz)

I haven't tried to lower the HT though so that may be my limitation there ...

How should i determine how to set the HT vs the FSB of the CPU ?

Related resources