Dual +12V Rail Setup?

Blaaguuu

Distinguished
Feb 17, 2007
Ive got a problem, because i just got a new geforce 7600GS AGP to replace my old Radeon 9700 Pro, but every time i run a game, a minute or few in the screen freezes, then goes black, and my computer crashes and reboots.

My conclusion was that my PSU wasnt cutting it, and the 7600 wasnt gettign enough power. I was told that i would need a PSU with +12V@20A or Dual +12V with one dedicated to the GPU @ atleast 15W. I had a Vantec 420W with +12V@18A. And i just went out today and bought an Antec 500W Smartpower PSU with +12V1@17A and +12V2@19A, but if all of the information i have been given is correct, i must be doing somethign wrong, because its still crashing.

I have 2 HDDs and a DVDRW drive sharing one of the 2 Molex cables in the system, and the GPU alone on the second. The mobo (MSI K7N2) has its 20pin connector, and the 4pin connector for the CPU.

I have never used a PSU with 2x +12V rails before, and i dont completely understand what that means, so i fear im not implementing it right.

Any guidance would be much appreciated!

Blaaguuu

Distinguished
Feb 17, 2007
Well im completely stumped as to what other problem there might be... The only thing i did in my initial upgrade was replacing the GPU. I got the newest drivers for the GPU, and have since flashed my BIOS with the newest version, and bought a more powerful PSU. Ive never experienced any similar crashing problems before, so i have no idea what else could be the cause - lack of power is the only thing i can think of.

I did get an error having to do with Services.exe when it crashed the first time, but i have no idea if that was the cause of the crash, or caused by it. and it woudl be very coincidental if the OS broke the moment i installed a new video card. But I have no idea how i woudl confirm that as being the problem, or repair it, short of reinstalling Windows XP - which is a pretty dramatic step for troubleshooting.