Sign in with
Your question

1st Time Building a PC - Heatsink Question

Last response: in Systems
February 17, 2007 6:31:27 PM

Hi,

Appologies if a dumb question but I am new to all of this and nervious I may screw it up. After reading the excellent article on how to build a PC I am taking the plunge.

I want a decent PC that is quite quiet. I doubt I will be a heavy user (e.g. digital photos) although my kids will play some games (e.g. Star Wars, Lord of Rings).

I have chosen the following based on reviews I have read:

C2D E6400
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi
2GB Crucial DDR2 800
Gigabyte 7600GT Silent Pipe ii
2 x Sumsung HD401J
NEC SATA DVD writer
Antec P150 case with Antec 430 psu (one rear 120mm fan)
plus 2 x 92mm Acoustic dustproof fans for front (do I need these?)

As you can see I have tried to keep noise to a minimum. I believe that the E6400 will come with a standard heatsink. Will that have a fan and will it be noisey? If so would you recommend something else?

Thanks
February 17, 2007 6:57:03 PM

Quote:
Hi,

Appologies if a dumb question but I am new to all of this and nervious I may screw it up. After reading the excellent article on how to build a PC I am taking the plunge.

I want a decent PC that is quite quiet. I doubt I will be a heavy user (e.g. digital photos) although my kids will play some games (e.g. Star Wars, Lord of Rings).

I have chosen the following based on reviews I have read:

C2D E6400
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi
2GB Crucial DDR2 800
Gigabyte 7600GT Silent Pipe ii
2 x Sumsung HD401J
NEC SATA DVD writer
Antec P150 case with Antec 430 psu (one rear 120mm fan)
plus 2 x 92mm Acoustic dustproof fans for front (do I need these?)

As you can see I have tried to keep noise to a minimum. I believe that the E6400 will come with a standard heatsink. Will that have a fan and will it be noisey? If so would you recommend something else?

Thanks